Author Topic: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support  (Read 68783 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Refleax

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
    • Flying Squirrel Entertainment
  • Nick: Refleax
  • Side: Neutral
Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« on: November 10, 2012, 09:30:07 pm »

Please post in the below thread if you have any questions regarding the editor.
FSE or other members of our community will get back to you as soon as possible.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2012, 11:57:07 am by Refleax »
May good health be yours.

Offline Refleax

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
    • Flying Squirrel Entertainment
  • Nick: Refleax
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Scening Support
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2012, 09:30:20 pm »

Below please find a link to a few threads which will help you get started with the editor.

Basic Guide On Mapping (Scene Making) In Napoleonic Wars
Nordous’ Sceners Guild
AI Mesh Tutorial (Needed for commander battles, or any maps supporting bots)
Terrain Code Generator see below| Wiki (Infomation)

edit:  here is the new address i found for the terrain code generator.

http://brosteamspeaks.ovh/content/MapGeneration

-Thunder
« Last Edit: August 04, 2016, 11:09:39 am by Thunderstormer »
May good health be yours.

Offline Menelaos

  • Brigadier General
  • *
  • Posts: 3999
    • View Profile
  • Side: Union
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2013, 11:58:07 am »
Any info on setting spawns properly in conquest?

Offline Gokiller

  • Almost Pride of Ni
  • Board Moderator
  • **
  • Posts: 3887
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2013, 12:39:54 pm »
Team 1 main flag: entry 64
Team 2 main flag: entry 65

Additional team 1 flags: spr_headquarters_flag_red*
Additional team 2 flags: spr_headquarters_flag_blue*

Neutral flags: spr_headquarters_flag_grey*

*Not sure I got the names entirely correct, and I might have messed up which one is team one and team two... erm, as long as you don't use the "code_only" things you should be fine.

Finally, place all entry points from 0-63 around the flags (so that all flags has at least one entry point next to them) including the main flags. People will automatically spawn on entry points close to their selected flag - entry_no doesn't matter as long as it's between 0 and 63.

This was from Beaver, back in MM. I'm sure you can use it.

Offline skapunker

  • Volunteer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2013, 03:46:40 am »
Thankyou for the links, they are very helpful !

Offline Penn

  • Donator
  • *
  • Posts: 1838
  • If music be the food of love, play on.
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2013, 02:41:17 pm »
I'm making a naval map using the "Arabian Harbour (Night)"-map which doesn't allow artillery.
Is there any way to change this so that I can spawn as an artillerist?
Penn and shitz

Offline FAULTYscotsman

  • Second Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Jacobite by Name,
    • View Profile
  • Nick: FAULTYscotsman
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2013, 03:15:56 am »
How do I make people spawn at all the entry points on battle instead of them just spawning in entry 0 or entry 32
a port will save a mans life, a rifle will only keep it safe


Offline Tali

  • First Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 747
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2013, 11:10:21 am »
I'm having some issues with entry points (again...).

One one side, I have entry points 0-31, and on the other side, I have entry points 32-63. When testing it, however, it is not rare that you spawn on the side that should be the spawn of the opposite team.

Any tips?

Offline Friedrich

  • Donator
  • *
  • Posts: 1974
  • 84e. Est. 2010. Official Non-Regiment Hopper.
    • View Profile
  • Nick: Friedrich
  • Side: Union
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2013, 02:00:47 pm »
Which game mode you talk about? Testing in editing mode doesn't properly work, so if you did, screw you! ;)
In duel, tdm or dm it seems, that the entry points are not really the same as you placed but near them.
You looked in the prop list if you did'nt forget a single or some entry points (happens if you rename entry point 1 to 0 and forgot to place number 1 again)?



Offline Karth

  • Donator
  • ***
  • Posts: 4077
  • General of 63e| NW Official Admin
    • View Profile
  • Nick: 63e_General_Karth
  • Side: Union
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2013, 02:20:37 pm »
How do I add those invisible barriers? The ones which make it so people are blocked from climbing up a really steep cliff?

Offline Menelaos

  • Brigadier General
  • *
  • Posts: 3999
    • View Profile
  • Side: Union
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2013, 04:34:31 pm »
How do I add those invisible barriers? The ones which make it so people are blocked from climbing up a really steep cliff?
It's called mm_barrier or something like that.

Offline Friedrich

  • Donator
  • *
  • Posts: 1974
  • 84e. Est. 2010. Official Non-Regiment Hopper.
    • View Profile
  • Nick: Friedrich
  • Side: Union
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2013, 07:12:56 pm »
Yeah mm_barrier. But be sure NOT to choose the mm_no_col_barrier (or something like that). They don't block people. Actually I don't know what they block! :o



Offline Mad_man1

  • Second Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2013, 05:46:36 am »
The no_col barrier blocks colonels :D

Offline ZeroSkilled

  • First Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 367
  • Ex-Mapper
    • View Profile
    • My Deviantart link!
  • Nick: ZeroSkilled
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2013, 09:57:17 pm »
Hello

Basically, I am testing out the spawnpoints in one of my maps. I am using the bots to do this so I am not sure if it's the bots that are the problem or is it the actual spawnpoints.

In a siege mode, when I spawn 100 bots for each team. The attacking bots always somehow spawn at the numbers 27,26, 25, 16. Could anyone explain this to me? Isn't the defending supposted to be 0-31 or is it just the bots being weird?

Thanks in advance,
Kind regards ZeroSkilled.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2013, 10:00:06 pm by ZeroSkilled »
Those who believe in telekinetics, raise my hand.
—Kurt Vonnegut


Offline Friedrich

  • Donator
  • *
  • Posts: 1974
  • 84e. Est. 2010. Official Non-Regiment Hopper.
    • View Profile
  • Nick: Friedrich
  • Side: Union
Re: Napoleonic Wars: Mapping Support
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2013, 10:32:50 pm »
you have to place each team spawns as one group. Maybe you placed somewhere all around the defenders the attacker spawns?