Poll

Would you play Total War: Victoria?

Yeah, I love the victorian era, imperialism & nationalism and the industrial revolution!
Meh, maybe
No, I would rather play Medieval III
No, I would rather play Empire II
No, I would rather play TW: Warhammer (dunno if this is for reels)

Author Topic: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!  (Read 128103 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Garrel

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 3479
  • Art & Graphics Person.
    • View Profile
    • Neptune Designs
  • Nick: Finn
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1605 on: August 04, 2017, 03:27:24 am »
Oh, have you tried looking for a solution around it?

Offline Toffee

  • King in the North
  • Donator
  • *
  • Posts: 5366
  • Ex 77y Pfc, 93rd Private and 18e Grenadier
    • View Profile
  • Side: Union
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1606 on: August 04, 2017, 03:32:35 am »
Ill probably have a tinker tomorrow morning. Can't be arsed tonight

Offline Garrel

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 3479
  • Art & Graphics Person.
    • View Profile
    • Neptune Designs
  • Nick: Finn
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1607 on: August 04, 2017, 04:05:30 am »
Fair enough, hope there is a fix. :)

Offline Rhen

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 3090
  • Dieu et mon droit
    • View Profile
  • Side: Confederacy
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1608 on: August 04, 2017, 07:44:23 am »
Careful with the NTW mods. I don't know a single person that has successfully been able to reverse it. :) Has ruined loads of games.

Offline Dazzer

  • Donator
  • *
  • Posts: 5694
  • no
    • View Profile
  • Side: Union
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1609 on: August 04, 2017, 08:29:43 am »
Have you tried verifying the game cache? The game file should always have Napoleon.exe in it.

Offline Garrel

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 3479
  • Art & Graphics Person.
    • View Profile
    • Neptune Designs
  • Nick: Finn
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1610 on: August 04, 2017, 02:42:55 pm »
I do have a Steam backup just in case Rhen.

AeroNinja

  • Guest
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1611 on: August 04, 2017, 03:19:14 pm »
I have had that problem with Shogun 2. Only half of the files were downloading when I did it from Steam. I tried to verify the game cache and a lot of files were installing.

Offline Rhen

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 3090
  • Dieu et mon droit
    • View Profile
  • Side: Confederacy
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1612 on: August 04, 2017, 03:23:49 pm »
Have you tried verifying the game cache? The game file should always have Napoleon.exe in it.

Irrelevant with NTW. Most peoples' games crash afterwards anyway. I have 1000 hours in this baby, and the amount of people who haven't been able to "fix" it back to its original state without constant crashes is zero, atleast from what I've experienced. As to why, I honestly don't know.

Offline Garrel

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 3479
  • Art & Graphics Person.
    • View Profile
    • Neptune Designs
  • Nick: Finn
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1613 on: August 04, 2017, 03:29:35 pm »
I played a little bit of NTW earlier and it seems to be running really smooth. I do hope I don't encounter a constant crash when playing in the future. :-\

Offline Dazzer

  • Donator
  • *
  • Posts: 5694
  • no
    • View Profile
  • Side: Union
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1614 on: August 04, 2017, 03:32:09 pm »
Have you tried verifying the game cache? The game file should always have Napoleon.exe in it.

Irrelevant with NTW. Most peoples' games crash afterwards anyway. I have 1000 hours in this baby, and the amount of people who haven't been able to "fix" it back to its original state without constant crashes is zero, atleast from what I've experienced. As to why, I honestly don't know.
I'm pretty sure you can get it to the original state by deleting all game files, deleting "preferences.script" and then veryfing the game cache. Basically something like reinstalling. But it worked for me numerous times

I played a little bit of NTW earlier and it seems to be running really smooth. I do hope I don't encounter a constant crash when playing in the future. :-\
Are you using a mod? Vanilla NTW has a much lesser chance of crashing (unless you have bad graphics card or cpu) compared to mods.

Offline Garrel

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 3479
  • Art & Graphics Person.
    • View Profile
    • Neptune Designs
  • Nick: Finn
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1615 on: August 04, 2017, 07:37:28 pm »
Yes, I'm using a mod.

Offline Toffee

  • King in the North
  • Donator
  • *
  • Posts: 5366
  • Ex 77y Pfc, 93rd Private and 18e Grenadier
    • View Profile
  • Side: Union
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1616 on: August 04, 2017, 08:27:00 pm »
Right, I've fixed the issue. I had a search and realised that steam had listed the NTW installation folder under my 'E' drive rather than my 'C' drive. I looked and, sure enough. Napoleon.exe was there. I suppose the NTW folder within my C drive was simply a left over from a previous installation. Anyway, I copied over the file to my C drive and, thank God, the darthmod installer managed to find it.


AeroNinja

  • Guest
Re: Total War General Discussion Thread: Shogun to Rome 2!
« Reply #1617 on: August 28, 2017, 02:40:58 pm »
Did anyone play the MoE mod for NTW? Masters of Europe?