Author Topic: An Officer And Gentleman: A Client-side Bicorn Officers Hat Replacement Mod!  (Read 8622 times)

Offline SeanBeansShako

• Major
    • View Profile
  • Side: Union
DAMN YOUR REGULATIONS SIR, I AM AN OFFICER AND A GENTLEMAN AND I WILL KEEP MY HAT!

This mod does (mostly) what it says, replacing the slightly tarted up regulation Shako head gear of most line and light to medium cav for all the nations in Napoleonic Wars.

Skirmishers, Grenadiers and most Guard Infantry are untouched and retain their shakos or unique head gear. British and French Ensigns are the only other units wearing these new classier hats. All other soldiers retain their original DLC head wear still.

Why have I done this? well, playing cav can be quite hectic or when your line goes into melee trying to keep track of the officer suddenly becomes quite a chore especially when the hat he wears looks more or less the same from the back. Also, I simply think Bicornered hats despite being associated with men of higher status than Captains and men of the Navy look good.

It also makes playing and leading cav much leader for newer regiments or new players in general who can't tell the difference between officer and other men on the field.

Now I'm not going to lie, it is pretty obvious this mod isn't Historically accurate or correct as I was limited to a reskinned Austrian bicorn and the already supplied hear gear from the DLC and I think for a first timer I did a decent job. Apologies for those who are annoyed with Austrian cockades playing Prussia or Russia but it better than the French one right?

Also, this mod comes in two flavours. One that simply does the line infantry and one that does line infantry and most nations light and medium cav. Most of the heavy cav of all nations remain untouched sadly as the helmets they use apparently are more complicated.