Author Topic: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!  (Read 310590 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Grozni

  • Second Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
  • Nick: RRA_10thRH_SoH_Grozni
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #825 on: August 25, 2014, 12:13:59 am »
One second I got your answer, in module_scripts.py
Comment out (#) in module_scripts.py the line (this_or_next|is_between,":agent_troop_id","trp_british_infantry2","trp_british_highlander"),
This ^ gives the KGL Infantry german shouts, same method for KGL Hussars.

Code
        (store_sub,":fac_index",":agent_faction","fac_britain"),
       
        (try_begin),
          (this_or_next|eq,":agent_faction","fac_austria"),
          (this_or_next|is_between,":agent_troop_id","trp_british_infantry2","trp_british_highlander"),
          (this_or_next|is_between,":agent_troop_id","trp_british_hussar","trp_british_light_dragoon"),
          (is_between,":agent_troop_id","trp_french_infantry_bavarian","trp_french_old_guard"),
          (assign,":fac_index",2), # set to prussia.
        (try_end),

Quote
        (store_sub,":fac_index",":agent_faction","fac_britain"),
       
        (try_begin),
          (this_or_next|eq,":agent_faction","fac_austria"),
#          (this_or_next|is_between,":agent_troop_id","trp_british_infantry2","trp_british_highlander"),
          (is_between,":agent_troop_id","trp_british_hussar","trp_british_light_dragoon"),
#          (is_between,":agent_troop_id","trp_french_infantry_bavarian","trp_french_old_guard"),
          (assign,":fac_index",2), # set to prussia.
        (try_end),
       
        #lets check if its male or female..
Commenting out the line will give the troop back default English shouts.

I cant find that file...

This works for when you want to make server side changes, the solution will only work on server which is modded as described. The file module_scripts.py is in module system which you have to download separately and learn how to compile.

But why would you want to make German troops shout in English anyway?

Offline usnavy30

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
  • Former Freelance Modder
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #826 on: August 25, 2014, 12:33:14 am »
I am taking a good guess it is for his Anlgo-Portuguese faction replacement mod. Unfortunately in this case if you want it client side and not a separate mod I don't think you can get around the shouts without using the module system (MS) ala the source code. Unless of course you could try to replace the german shouts in Sounds folder but that would be a lot of work to locate first then to replace if you have the time. I cannot think of any other alternative.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2014, 12:36:09 am by usnavy30 »
How To Run A Mod Installer.exe
Quote
Hello.. I have a problem... It says I don't have Mount&Blade Warband: Napoleonic War and I have to buy it
Try joining a regular Napoleonic Wars server and then re-running the installer.

Offline Viriathus

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 1707
  • Rua, suas cabras!
    • View Profile
    • YouTube Channel
  • Nick: RI23_Cpt_Viriathus
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #827 on: August 25, 2014, 11:40:12 am »
I am taking a good guess it is for his Anlgo-Portuguese faction replacement mod. Unfortunately in this case if you want it client side and not a separate mod I don't think you can get around the shouts without using the module system (MS) ala the source code. Unless of course you could try to replace the german shouts in Sounds folder but that would be a lot of work to locate first then to replace if you have the time. I cannot think of any other alternative.
Damn, well thanks for the help anyway :)

Offline Viriathus

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 1707
  • Rua, suas cabras!
    • View Profile
    • YouTube Channel
  • Nick: RI23_Cpt_Viriathus
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #828 on: August 25, 2014, 08:35:54 pm »
What about chaging the pants of certain units or recolour them?

Offline usnavy30

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
  • Former Freelance Modder
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #829 on: August 25, 2014, 09:50:44 pm »
Many british units share the same pants being French voltigeur officer pants that are grey, so if you want to give it a shot you can try Parrot's method by making the pants .3 of the model in openBRF for each to separate it to your liking. Of course the pants could clip but client side you got limited options.
How To Run A Mod Installer.exe
Quote
Hello.. I have a problem... It says I don't have Mount&Blade Warband: Napoleonic War and I have to buy it
Try joining a regular Napoleonic Wars server and then re-running the installer.

Offline Penn

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1839
  • If music be the food of love, play on.
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #830 on: August 27, 2014, 11:35:43 pm »
Hey there!

Just wondering if there is any way to put two different hairstyles together. Like this:



I want to have the sideburns with the longer hair in the back.
Is this possible?
Penn and shitz

Offline Viriathus

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 1707
  • Rua, suas cabras!
    • View Profile
    • YouTube Channel
  • Nick: RI23_Cpt_Viriathus
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #831 on: August 28, 2014, 01:47:31 pm »
Hey there!

Just wondering if there is any way to put two different hairstyles together. Like this:



I want to have the sideburns with the longer hair in the back.
Is this possible?
Maybe if týou can find a openBRF file with it and set them together... :)

Offline Penn

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1839
  • If music be the food of love, play on.
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #832 on: August 28, 2014, 02:00:39 pm »
Hey there!

Just wondering if there is any way to put two different hairstyles together. Like this:



I want to have the sideburns with the longer hair in the back.
Is this possible?
Maybe if týou can find a openBRF file with it and set them together... :)

I did that, but that made it so that one hair did not get a texture. (Went all white)
Penn and shitz

Offline Grozni

  • Second Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
  • Nick: RRA_10thRH_SoH_Grozni
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #833 on: August 28, 2014, 02:08:56 pm »
If you do it in the way other objects are combined (by keeping them as separate objects, but with same name and numerical value added after dot in the name) both objects should end up combined yet keep the texture.
So for example if one hair type is named "hair", you should rename other hair type to "hair.1"
At least thats what works with equipment, scene props and other object types, never tested that with hair.
Update: and now we know this doesn't work, since hair color is set via hair color slider ingame, this will work on only one mesh and the other will remain white
« Last Edit: August 28, 2014, 08:52:13 pm by Grozni »

Offline Penn

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1839
  • If music be the food of love, play on.
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #834 on: August 28, 2014, 02:17:53 pm »
If you do it in the way other objects are combined (by keeping them as separate objects, but with same name and numerical value added after dot in the name) both objects should end up combined yet keep the texture.
So for example if one hair type is named "hair", you should rename other hair type to "hair.1"
At least thats what works with equipment, scene props and other object types, never tested that with hair.

Hm, do you think you can explain that a bit more in depth? I don't really get it  :-[
Penn and shitz

Offline Grozni

  • Second Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
  • Nick: RRA_10thRH_SoH_Grozni
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #835 on: August 28, 2014, 02:39:28 pm »
Look at openBRF, how other objects are composed by combining models.
For example, austrian arty uniform is composed of objects called austrian_arty, austrian_arty.1, austrian_arty.2
So just do the same to combine two hair types into one. To combine hairA and hairB, all you have to do is rename hairB into hairA.1

Offline Penn

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1839
  • If music be the food of love, play on.
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #836 on: August 28, 2014, 02:50:38 pm »
Look at openBRF, how other objects are composed by combining models.
For example, austrian arty uniform is composed of objects called austrian_arty, austrian_arty.1, austrian_arty.2
So just do the same to combine two hair types into one. To combine hairA and hairB, all you have to do is rename hairB into hairA.1

Ah! Of course, I'll try that! Thanks :)
Penn and shitz

Offline Penn

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1839
  • If music be the food of love, play on.
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #837 on: August 28, 2014, 03:00:27 pm »
This is what I got as a result. Looks great in OpenBRF, but the game makes it into white...

Penn and shitz

Offline Grozni

  • Second Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
  • Nick: RRA_10thRH_SoH_Grozni
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #838 on: August 28, 2014, 03:06:05 pm »
Maybe because hairA is still messed up from your previous edit attempt?

Offline Penn

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 1839
  • If music be the food of love, play on.
    • View Profile
  • Side: Neutral
Re: Have a question about Modding? Ask Here!
« Reply #839 on: August 28, 2014, 03:56:43 pm »
Maybe because hairA is still messed up from your previous edit attempt?

No, that's not possible, resetted all the files
Penn and shitz