Author Topic: What scandal happened in 2014 August?  (Read 10420 times)

Offline Required_Attack

• Private
  • Not Peace, But a Sword.
    • View Profile
    • 53e Régiment d'Infanterie de Ligne
  • Nick: Gregory
  • Side: Union
What scandal happened in 2014 August?
« on: October 01, 2014, 08:44:38 pm »
I am not a prominent member of this community. I did not understand what happened when I received the following message on 31 August 2014. Could someone please tell me whom the moderators banned and what they did wrong? Thanks.

Hello all.

For the past days I have been moving into my first year of college. It's been very fun, but tiring. Our orientation lasts for about 5 days, giving us ample time to move in and settle into our new community. A large part of orientation is attending a number of "meetings" in which school policies and rules are laid out, as are the consequences for breaking them. Now, after watching a school-hosted showing of Neighbors and after ordering my textbooks, I come here to find that a different type of orientation - or rather, re-orientation - is in order. A large number of people seem to be forgetting what exactly what it means to use these forums, and more importantly, what it means to form and maintain a thriving community.

Many of you know that the history of the MM/NW community has been nothing if not turbulent. Trials and tribulations aplenty have tested our resolve both as individuals and more as a community. It's a powerful word, "community." It bears a lot of weight in terms of what it means for its inhabitants, weight that is directly transferred to those inhabitants; without them, the community would not exist. Every single person in every single environment makes a piece of the picture, and each has a responsibility to both their companions and their community as a whole.